Skip to content

REMEMBRANCE OF THINGS IMPERFECT

August 14, 2011

Illustration by Andy Paciorek

 

 

It is the middle of a sunny summer day

I am running down the stairs

quickly and excitedly, with my neighbours following me.

We all want to see the Sun

It just fell down in the front yard

I saw it coming down like an overripe cantaloupe,

staining the sky with sticky, succulent golden juices.

There it is,

lying on the ground,

a giant orange, trampling the grass it landed on,

squirting its warm essence all over our bodies.

The neighbourhood dogs are running around,

barking at this strange visitor.

I approach it warily. I touch it.

It is warm and beautiful,

glistening in the mid-noon light.

I remember well the feelings of amazement, incredulity,

inexplicable joy overwhelming me

and the comical expressions of confusion

on the faces

of my neighbours.

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Looks like Boris likes his soul sunny-side-up!

  2. Ann Marcaida permalink

    Hi Boris. I see you’ve discovered that your blog works! Sorry to be so late in arriving– I was traveling to New Mexico.

  3. Boris, remind me to share my poem “Cezanne’s Doubts,” with you. It’s about someone putting a piece of the moon in a bucket and taking it to share with people. Once again, our work parallels in some odd way. Very interesting poem.

  4. I love your personification of the sun here. Both brilliant and unique! Especially: “We all want to see the Sun / It just fell down in the front yard / I saw it coming down like an overripe cantaloupe, / staining the sky with sticky, succulent golden juices.” Have you thought of referring to the sun as he or she rather than it? I think it would give your poem even more intensity.

    • Thank you Eva for reading it. I’m glad you liked it. This poem is actually a part of series of poems that I am doing about celestial objects, including the planets etc, falling from the sky. If you like, I can send all the finished poems in this series to you directly by email.

Leave a Reply

