Skip to content
Tags

,

A WRITER’S LAMENT (or The Ups and Downs of Being an Online Writer)

May 15, 2013

( to be sung to the tune of this song here )

Once I used to get so many comments
Once I used to get so many “likes”

Write dear writer
try and try
and your words will reach the sky

Wondrous visions fill your eyes
Fame awaits you in this life

Write dear writer
try and try
and your words will reach the sky

Once I used to get
so many comments
Once I used to get
so many “likes”

Write dear writer
try and try
and your words
will reach the sky



Boris you’re gonna carry that pen
carry that pain
a long time

Boris you’re gonna carry that pen
carry that pain
a long time

You never give me your feedback
You only give me your “thanks for sharing”
And in the middle of our Facebook chatting
you log out

Boris you’re gonna carry that pen
carry that pain
a long time

Boris you’re gonna carry that pen
carry that pain
a long time

Oh yeah
alright
are you gonna read my stuff tonight?

Read it!
Read it!
Read it!
Read it!
….

And in the end
the comments got
are equal to
the comments wrote.

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Writer’s fate.

  2. maadmaax permalink

    You lost me on this one, Boris. I went to the link, listened to the first thirty or so seconds and then escaped from that noise. I’m one of those weird people who hates the Beatles.

    I read through your lyrics and really enjoyed what you wrote but I just couldn’t match it to the music because I hate the music.

    Still I thank you for responding to the challenge.

    • thank you Doug! Is this song something you can relate to as an online writer? You might remembr from Gather days how “thank you for sharing” was the most popular comment there.

      Kathleen Gallagher, a friend from Ohio and a fellow writer, as well as Professor of English and Literature, performed this song live at a literary event in which she was the featured writer! She gave a very enthusiastic rendering of this song and took it to a completely new level. You can watch a video of it at the link below.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. WESat: August 30, 2014 – The Confabulation of Prevarication | Writing Essential Group

Leave a Reply

