Skip to content

My Song Parody Performed Live

May 27, 2013

Some of you already know that, in my bid to become the next Weird Al Yankovic, I have been writing a lot of song parodies lately. 

Well, recently, for the very first time, I was honoured to have one of my song parodies performed live!  The song is titled ” A Writer’s Lament ( or The Ups and Downs of Being an Online Writer)” and it is a parody of The Beatles’ classic “Golden Slumbers/Carry That Weight/The End”. I think a lot of you will be able to relate to the sentiments expressed in the lyrics. I include the parody lyrics below.

Kathleen Gallagher, an online friend from Ohio and a fellow writer, as well as Professor of English and Literature, was kind enough to perform this song live at a literary event in which she was the featured writer! She gave a very enthusiastic rendering of this song and took it to a completely new level. You can watch a video of it at the link below. I hope you will find it amusing viewing.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=JgLW_XLxH0U

A WRITER’S LAMENT (or The Ups and Downs of Being an Online Writer)

 

( to be sung to the tune of this song here )

Once I used to get so many comments
Once I used to get so many “likes”

Write dear writer
try and try
and your words will reach the sky

Wondrous visions fill your eyes
Fame awaits you in this life

Write dear writer
try and try
and your words will reach the sky

Once I used to get
so many comments
Once I used to get
so many “likes”

Write dear writer
try and try
and your words
will reach the sky



Boris you’re gonna carry that pen
carry that pain
a long time

Boris you’re gonna carry that pen
carry that pain
a long time

You never give me your feedback
You only give me your “thanks for sharing”
And in the middle of our Facebook chatting
you log out

Boris you’re gonna carry that pen
carry that pain
a long time

Boris you’re gonna carry that pen
carry that pain
a long time

 

Oh yeah
alright
are you gonna read my stuff tonight?

Read it!
Read it!
Read it!
Read it!
….

And in the end
the comments got
are equal to
the comments wrote.

 

 

Image

with thanks to Agnieszka for the creation of this image!

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Eva PoeteX permalink

    I absolutely love this. So relatable. 🙂 Dare I say: Thanks for sharing? Haha.

    • thank you again Eva! Glad you enjoyed it!

      • You’re welcome! I really resonate with this: “Write dear writer / try and try / and your words will reach the sky.” No matter how many likes or comments we get, we should keep on writing regardless. Poe-TRY! 🙂 Also: “And in the end / the comments got / are equal to / the comments wrote.” Us writers are surely in this together. We ought to support each other. The energy you put into giving honest feedback will be returned to you.

Leave a Reply

