Skip to content
Tags

I WROTE THE STORY OF MY LIFE BUT NEVER ONCE DID I STOP TO READ IT

July 13, 2014

I wrote the story of my life, but never once did I stop to read it.

Words, plots, characters gushed out of me yet never once did I take the time to see if the words were apt; if the plot had inner consistency; if the characters were realistic and likeable.

Not once did I peruse the footnotes and attempt to research further the story I was writing.

Not once did I check for for the minor spelling and grammar errors nor contemplate whether indeed the whole construction of my work-in-progress was fundamentally flawed from the very first word on the very first page.

Never once did I pay heed to the better advice of my elders to keep a constant tone to my novel; to not portray realism as fantasy; to not turn tragedy into comedy.

But recklessly I mixed passages of horror with passages of humour, blended magic realism with surrealism and clumsily juxtaposed soaring poetry with indifferent pedestrianism.

Not once did I look back to see if my story made any sense, leaving it instead to others to try and make sense of the story of my life.

And so preoccupied was I with the writing of this book that I forgot all about existence and my life instead became this book itself.

And now, as I come to the final page, I think to myself:

Is there still time enough to begin the book anew?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. This is an absolutely great post.

    • Thank you Pam! This poem has a hidden joke in it and also a line so paradoxical that I myself am still trying to work out its meaning! If you are interested Pam, I can tell you more about that.

  2. Nice extended metaphor, carried out thoroughly, thoughtfully, and colorfully. Enjoyable piece and thought-provoking. Thanks for playing!

    • Thank you Doug for reading this poem and your views on it. There is a line in it that’s so paradoxical that even I am still trying to work out its meaning. There is another little in-joke in that piece that is very easy to miss because of the way our minds process information. I can discuss this further with you Doug if you are interested!

      • Discuss all you want, it’s what I’m here for. Yes, nice paradox. You’ve got a definite Kafka streak. And it only took me 3-4 tries to see the in-joke. Well done!

        • I’d love to discuss this poem further with you Doug, but I prefer to do it via email. Perhaps you could send me your email address through a Facebook message?

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. SunWinks! July 13, 2014: The H.M.S. Metaphor Goes On Extended Holiday | Writing Essential Group

Leave a Reply

