Skip to content
Tags

WAKING UP TO LIFE

July 29, 2014

Some time ago,

a woman with a gun in her hand

demanded of me and my companions

that we provide good reasons

why life is worth living.

 

Otherwise she was going to terminate us.

I thought to myself:

This is the very question

that I’ve struggled with for so long

and now I am being forced

to provide a definitive answer.

 

Do I make up some fancy reason

and thus escape with my life?

But if I lie,

then my life is not really worth pursuing.

 

In the distance,I saw my friends

getting finished off –

obviously their answers weren’t good enough.

 

It was now my turn.

I came in and faced the interrogator.

In a voice devoid of any tone

she commanded me

to present my case.

 

“Life is hard, really hard sometimes”,

I replied to her,

“and a lot of times I don’t want to go on

struggling against the unyielding, overpowering forces.

Yet I want to continue living.

That is all I can say.

I want to live.”

 

The interrogator gazed at me

with an empty look,

a look lacking

any human expression,

deciding on her answer.

Just as she was about

to make her pronouncement,

I woke up

to life.

From → Uncategorized

11 Comments
  1. No matter how hard life is, we want to go on living.

  2. Thank goodness. Boris, I may not like poetry, but this is wonderful.

  3. Wonderful! You actually got away with pulling an “and then I woke up” ending. Amazing! I like it!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. SunWinks! July 20, 2014: Where Is Thy Sting? | Writing Essential Group

Leave a Reply

