Skip to content
Tags

A LONG-FORGOTTEN TUNE

August 11, 2014

A long-forgotten tune 

Was it in a dream
that I heard it last?
 
A face of a stranger

Why does it seem
so familiar 
so dear 
to me now?    

Who was I before we met?
I cannot recall

I am afraid to contemplate the reality
that confronts me
full force 

I am afraid to accept the reality
of reality

I felt it coming

The overpowering scent
carried from the days of tomorrow
by the omnipotent wind of intuition

Enveloped in and drowned 
by feelings I cannot comprehend 

I think we have met before
in a dream from my childhood
in that faraway land

drawing by Alicia Pacheco

"Echoes of a Foreign Childhood" by ~therob70

image by Rob Heald

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Some dazzling touches here:

    The overpowering scent
    carried from the days of tomorrow
    by the omnipotent wind of intuition

    You are a metaphysical poet. I’m always afraid to say who you remind me of for fear someone with a more exhaustive knowledge of the literature will have a more apt reference. The names that come to my mind are Donne, Hopkins, Blake. If I find a more apt reference, I’ll let you know.

    • thank you Doug. It’s interesting that you should call me as a poet, as I see myself more as a writer of stories, fables, parables etc and I don’t feel that comfortable with writing poetry.

      I’m not actually that familiar with poetry. I hardly have any read any poets and so I am guessing you are referring to Gerard Manley Hopkins.

      Several artists have created various images for this poem. I have included them above together with the poem.

      The first image didn’t fit in its entirety. You can see it in full here:

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. SunWinks! August 3, 2014: Renaming the World | Writing Essential Group

Leave a Reply

