Skip to content

REMEMBRANCE OF THINGS IMPERFECT (Third Pebble from the Sun Variation )

November 26, 2014

It is the start of a pleasant summer afternoon.

I am running down the stairs,
quickly and excitedly,
with my neighbours following me.

We all want to see the Earth.
It just landed in the back yard.

There it is,
lying in a
pile of top-grade manure
my mum purchased
in the garden centre.

The world’s population
are jostling
round it,
each trying to get
a piece 
for themselves.

I fight and weave my way
through the crowd
until I am standing
right in front
of the blue-tinged ball,
its allure undiminished
by the splotches of muck
on its surface.

I can see my home town
and look closely,
trying to spot myself too.

There I am,
looking closely
at the globe
that has just landed
in my back yard.

I give myself
a good wave
and observe
myself waving
back at me.

I remember well
the warm feelings
of affection
for this sphere
and the unbearable sensation 
of loss as I watched it
wither away.


From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

