Skip to content
Tags

REMEMBRANCE OF THINGS IMPERFECT ( Variation I on a Main Theme )

November 26, 2014


It is the beginning
of a mild spring evening.
I am running down the stairs,
quickly and excitedly,
with my neighbours following me.
 
We all want to see Mercury.
It just landed in the front yard.

There it is,
crushing the mail boxes,
looking forlorn and lost,
like a teacher’s pet
deprived of attention,
no longer the first
in Sun’s affection.

A haste of errand boys,
dispatches in their hands,
pedal furiously round it
to impress their patron.

I approach in anticipation,
hoping it has brought
the message I have
been waiting for
my entire life.

It squirms and wriggles,
seemingly embarrassed by its
inefficiency.

I remember well the sensations
of a bitter blow,
of my dreams crashing down to earth
and the comical expressions
of feigned sympathy
on the faces
of my neighbours.


Notes:

1) In mythology, Mercury was the messenger to the Gods.

2) I have taken the liberty of creating the collective noun of “haste” to denote a group of errand boys.


From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. A haste of errand boys! A lovely term of venery! Well done, sir!

    • thank you Doug, glad you liked it. This poem is actually one in a series that I am doing about various celestial objects, like Moon, Sun, Jupiter, the whole Universe etc falling in my backyard. I have posted a few poems in this series already on this blog.

Leave a Reply

