Skip to content

My Song Parody Performed Live by Moogy

May 17, 2015
Hello Everyone,
 
 
Some of you already know that, in my bid to become the next Weird Al Yankovic, I have been working on song parodies lately.  

Well, recently,  I have been honoured to have one of my song parodies performed live by the very talented Belgian-Australian singer/songwriter/pianist Deborrah “Moogy” Morgan. The song is titled ” Those Were the Nights” and it is a parody of the classic song “Those Were the Days”.
 
Moogy performs every Tuesday at a seafood restaurant/bar called Claypots and I changed the lyrics of the song to be about this restaurant/bar and the people who come there. (The lyrics are not about me personally.)
 
You can watch a video of Moogy performing this song at the link below. Her enthusiastic and delightful performance brings my song parody to life! (The video also features the very suave percussionist Apú.)
 
And these are the links to Moogy’s Facebook page and her YouTube channel, where you can see more of her marvellous performances of other songs.

 

 
 
So if you are in Melbourne or happen to be passing through Melbourne, do come and see Moogy perform at Claypots, 213 Barkly St, St Kilda, every Tuesday night at 9pm. She sings a wide variety of great songs, including classic French songs of the 50s and 60s, and Jazz-Pop originals, both in French and English. You are sure to have a very enjoyable time!
 
I include the lyrics of the parody below.
 
 
(Please note that “alco” is Australian slang for “alcoholic”)
 
 
THOSE WERE THE NIGHTS
(You can watch the original song together with the original lyrics here)
 

Once upon a time we went to Claypots
Where we used to eat a fish or two
Remember how we boozed away the hours
And thought of all the dumb things we could do

Chorus


Those were the nights my friend
There was no time for bed
We drank mulled wine forever and a day
The band played all night long
We’d sing and dance along
For we were drunk
and didn’t care what people say
La la la la…

Then the busy week went rushing by us
Monday, Thursday… is it nearly the weekend?
If by chance I see you there this Tuesday
Will you still remember my full name?

Chorus

Just tonight I stood in front of Claypots
No one there looked familiar to me
In the glass I saw a strange reflection
Who’s that alco staring back at me?

Chorus

Through the door there came familiar singing
I saw Moogy and heard her call my name
Oh my friend we’re sober but no wiser
For in our brains all cells have died away

Chorus

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. duncanlong permalink

    Very nicely done. Bravo!

  2. That performance must have been fun!

    • thank you Irina! Yes, it was fun and I’m honoured to have Moogy perform my song parodies.

Leave a Reply

